NCSP Ed Ristaino Memorial Scholarship

 The Ed Ristaino Memorial Scholarship has been established by the North Carolina Society of Perfusionists (NCSP) to support our commitment to excellence and education within the perfusion community.  This award is named in honor of Edward Ristaino, CCP, who passed away in March of 2012 as a result of a tragic hot air balloon accident.  Ed was an avid hot air balloonist, snow skier, and sky diver.  He received a degree in biology from NC State University and worked in the cardiology research lab at Duke Hospital.  Ed was a perfusionist at CMC Northeast in Concord, NC, where he helped pioneer and expand the cardiac surgery program.   Ed was instrumental in the formation of the NC Society of Perfusionists, as well as in our efforts for licensure through the North Carolina Board of Medicine.  We offer this $500 award to students enrolled in an accredited perfusion training program who are interested in presenting their research or case report experience at the annual NCSP meeting.  Anyone interested in donating to the Ed Ristaino Memorial Fund is encouraged to contact The Ed Ristaino Memorial Fund, Colony Bank of Fitzgerald, PO Box 1029, Fitzgerald, GA 31750.  We intend to remember Ed for his devotion to perfusion, to his patients, and to perfusion education by offering this memorial scholarship each year.  

Purpose: To provide a $500 scholarship to a deserving student seeking to present their research project at the NCSP annual meeting. Travel expenses up to $1000 will also be reimbursed after submission of receipts.

 Missing: Ho-air balloonist Edward Ristaino saved the lives of five skydivers before his balloon went down in a thunderstorm in south Georgia on Friday



 The 2017 Winner of the Ed Ristaino Student Scholarship is:

 Erin Friesenborg

Congratulations to Erin, from Quinnipiac, whose award was presented at the 2017

 Amsect International Meeting  for her presentation titled 

"Can low Preoperative Albumin Levels Predict Heparin Resistance? An Observational Analysis of Two Large Hospital Centers"

 It is particularly exciting to offer her the award as she also received the AmSECT Perfusion Without

 Borders student scholarship. At the conference she also spoke on her trip to Macedonia which she

 traveled to just a few months earlier.


Past Winners of the Ed Ristaino Student Scholarship

2012 - Devon Munoz

2013 - Courtney Petersen

2014- Christine Chang

2015- Jessica Iwanski

2016- Kirk Bingham

2017- Erin Friesenborg